Virginia Woolf

Adeline Virginia Woolf (25 January 1882 – 28 March 1941) was an English author, essayist, publisher, and writer of short stories, regarded as one of the foremost modernist literary figures of the twentieth century.

During the interwar period, Virginia Woolf was a significant figure in London literary society and a member of the Bloomsbury Group, which included her husband Leonard Woolf, E.M. Forster, Duncan Grant, Virginia’s sister, Vanessa Bell, Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, Ezra Pound, and T. S. Eliot.

Virginia Woolf’s works are closely linked to the development of feminist criticism, but she was also an important writer in the modernist movement. She revolutionized the novel with stream of consciousness, which allowed her to depict the inner lives of her characters in all too intimate detail.

Her most famous works include the novels Mrs. Dalloway(1925), To the lighthouse (1927) and Orlando (1928), and the book-length essay A room of One’s Own (1929).

After his parents’ death, Woolf suffered from what is now known as a bipolar disorder, which is characterized by alternating moods of mania and depression.

She finally drowned herself in the river Ouse in 1941.

This entry was posted in Writers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s