Mrs Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf (II)

The Hours – the movie
Michael Cunningham’s 1998 Pulitzer Prize winning novel, The Hours, focused on three generations of women affected by Woolf’s novel Mrs. Dalloway.
In 2002, a film version of the novel was released starring Nicole Kidman as Woolf, a role for which she won the Academy Award for Best Actress the same year. The film also starred Julianne Moore and Meryl Streep.

Here you have some quotes from the book -that also appear on the film- I specially like.

– “Oh, Mrs Dalloway… always giving parties to cover the silence.”

-“But I still have to face the hours, don’t I? I mean, the hours after the party, and the hours after that…”

-“A woman’s whole life in a single day. Just one day. And in that day her whole life.”

-“I was going to kill my heroine. But I’ve changed my mind. I fear I may have to kill someone else, instead.”

Watch this video, is the final scene of the movie. It doesn’t reveal much, only that Virginia Woolf commited suicide -but I already wrote that in another post. I love this fragment, it is so beautiful and true the things she said.

-“To look life in the face, always, to look life in the face and to know it for what it is. At last to know it, to love it for what it is, and then, to put it away. Leonard, always the years between us, always the years. Always the love. Always the hours.” – Virginia Woolf .

(In a letter to Leonard when she drowned herself by putting a large stone in her pocket in the river Ouse, on 28 March 1941, aged fifty-nine.)

I hope that after reading the posts on Mrs Dalloway, some of you may want to read it or watch The Hours. You should!

This entry was posted in Novels. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mrs Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf (II)

  1. Pingback: Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf (I) | This is a literary blog

  2. Dámaris Asprón says:

    I love that book! and now that I’ve read this, I must see the film!
    Great post 🙂

  3. kasi says:

    She never said always the years between us always the love always the hours. I think you’ve just picked that up from the film. No where can I find this quote from her lips or pen.

  4. Charlotte says:

    Yes, she did say it. In one of her last letters to Leonard, as the author of the post mentioned above. What are you, blind? 🙂

Leave a Reply

